Opinions on Midnight Sun by Stephanie Meyer

Midnight Sun has been out for a while now and I have questions for those of you who have read it. As someone who read the Twilight series during the hype, and didn’t completely hate it, I’m curious as to whether it is worth the read or not? Does Edward’s version expand on the events that take place? Or is this just another cash grab?

While I don’t entirely hate the Twilight saga, I don’t think it was at all deserving of the ridiculous hype it received. I had a friend who was completely obsessed with this series, shoot I even had a Taylor Lautner poster in my room (only because it was free). But, this was a story that is low on my list of books that I enjoyed, and it definitely doesn’t have the re-readability factor, at least for me. But, if I were to read it, would it be a worthy read?

Let me know in the comments.

Published by

Savannah Worman

My name is Savannah, you can call me Sav. I am a recent Oregon State graduate, Siletz tribal member, and aspiring book critic. Join me on this exploration of the literary world around us. You’re sure to find something you like. If you have any questions, concerns, or comments feel free to hit me up on the contact page! I live in the Pacific Northwest with my boyfriend, my Havanese/Aussie Shepard Stark, my Jack Russell/Shih Tzu Daenerys, and my son Finn.

4 thoughts on “Opinions on Midnight Sun by Stephanie Meyer”

  1. I am a Twilight fan and I enjoyed Midnight Sun a lot. I think if you’re a fan as well there is a high chance that you will like it. At the end of the day, it’s Twilight, a story we know like the back of our hands. However, there were new details and scenes that I really appreciated and made me love some of the characters even more.

    We got to know more about the Cullens (how their gifts work, how they became a family, how they felt with Bella in the picture), we got to see the scenes were Bella wasn’t present (most of them were very entertaining), we understood Edward better (his gift, the reasons behind some of his actions, etc)… Overall, a lot of insight. If you think these are things that you will enjoy reading about, I recommend it.

    However, I do warn you that Edward thinks a lot. He describes things thoroughly and overanalyzes a lot (which is part of the character and situation), but it can be a little annoying at times (at least for me).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment