Three Book Tropes I Hate

We all have tropes that we hate, here are my top three.

3. The Exposition Character

The Exposition Character, if you don’t already know, is a character that is seemingly clueless so that the narrator can give background information. This kind of character is the one who asks what’s that? when a siren goes off or doesn’t understand very basic rules. I hate this because often times it feels like the author doesn’t trust the reader to understand very basic plot points. I feel like just giving a quick internal explanation versus making an idiotic character is better.

2. Love Triangles

How often do love triangles actually happen? How come it seems like every other YA novel features a love triangle? It’s just unrealistic and to me, it feels like artificial tension in a story. I’d much rather spend the time wasted on the triangle to deepen the romantic aspect of the couple that ends up together. I know this opinion is pretty controversial, but it’s just not for me. Total respect towards those who do enjoy it though.

1. A Charater Being ”Quirky” Because of Their Mental Health Problems

Look I struggle pretty intensely with my mental health, and I have family members with severe depression. It’s not something that makes me or them quirky, it makes us unstable and at a disadvantage. My anxiety makes it hard for me to get out of bed in the morning, and not once have I been told, you’re so quirky when I was having an anxiety attack or a paranoid meltdown. It’s not quirky, it’s not cool, it’s hard. Stop using it to make cutesy characters, because it’s not cute.


What tropes do you hate? Let me know in the comments!

Published by

Savannah Worman

My name is Savannah, you can call me Sav. I am a recent Oregon State graduate, Siletz tribal member, and aspiring book critic. Join me on this exploration of the literary world around us. You’re sure to find something you like. If you have any questions, concerns, or comments feel free to hit me up on the contact page! I live in the Pacific Northwest with my boyfriend, my Havanese/Aussie Shepard Stark, my Jack Russell/Shih Tzu Daenerys, and my son Finn.

8 thoughts on “Three Book Tropes I Hate”

    1. I don’t have an exact example. I could say that sometimes Ron Weasley is the exposition character in HP, although I don’t hate him. Not all exposition characters are bad, but the ones that seem unnecessary annoy me. I feel like exposition characters get overused and feel insulting as a reader.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment