The Best and The Worst Book to Film Adaptations

The Best: The Lord of The Rings Trilogy

Merry and Pippin drinking

The Lord of The Rings trilogy ended up with 11 Oscars, a bomb soundtrack, and a faithful adaptation of the books. I love this series! Peter Jackson, the director, absolutely nailed these films. The casting is perfect, the use of practical effects is pure magic, and the source material is utilized expertly. I feel like J.R.R. Tolkien would be absolutely astonished and happy with what was produced. This film series led me to the books, then led me to the fantasy genre as a whole. I owe a lot of my passion to Jackson and Tolkien.

The only parts that really stood out to me that I wish were shown was the bit about Tom Bombadil, because he’s such a mystery and a parallel to what is happening, and the love story between Éowyn and Faramir. But, with each movie being as long as they already are we’d need at least another half hour of run time to cover these two areas. I’m not genuinely complaining though because this adaptation is absolutely faithful and these two pieces aren’t entirely necessary for the story, just more depth to the world.

The Worst: Percy Jackson

Horrible Percy Jackson

I LOVE the Percy Jackson series. I gobbled them up when they came out and I was SO excited for a film adaptation. I left the theater absolutely gutted. The source material meant nothing and the casting was horrible. Grover’s character was not accurate in personality and they didn’t even make Annabeth blond! How hard is to dye hair or put on a freaking wig?! Not to mention the effects were horrendous.

The biggest travesty here is the complete butchering of an already excellent storyline. How do you have a plot already made out into a proven successful series and decide, ya know what? I’m gonna change it completely. They had success served to them on a silver platter and they slaughtered it.

Clarisse and Aries aren’t even in the dang movie. How do you leave out the main antagonist of the movie? Aries is literally the bad guy that Percy fights. Like what?! My mind was blown in the worst possible way. I hope in the future we can get a faithful Percy Jackson adaptation. I feel like Rick Riordan is an all-star and he deserves to see a good adaptation of his books.

What adaptation is your fave? And which one do you absolutely loathe? Let me know in the comments.

Published by

Savannah Worman

My name is Savannah, you can call me Sav. I am a recent Oregon State graduate, Siletz tribal member, and aspiring book critic. Join me on this exploration of the literary world around us. You’re sure to find something you like. If you have any questions, concerns, or comments feel free to hit me up on the contact page! I live in the Pacific Northwest with my boyfriend, my Havanese/Aussie Shepard Stark, my Jack Russell/Shih Tzu Daenerys, and my son Finn.

5 thoughts on “The Best and The Worst Book to Film Adaptations”

  1. Yes! The Lord of the Rings Trilogy is a great example of great film adaptations. I haven’t read or seen Percy Jackson though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment